Why So Blue?

Right after dinner is a good time to doodle, if I’m gonna do it at all.  Before that, I’m usually doing the dishes, then cooking dinner.  Usually, I’ll have right at 45 minutes, to an hour after dinner and before giving the boys a bath, and if I’m quick, I can get a bit in – usually in the sketchbook.  This night was no different.

I got out the Speedball India ink and the dip pen & nibs, and used my daughter as a facial model to sketch out the face.  I used a small brush to paint in some of the thicker lines, and to fill in a bit.  After that, just went crazy with the color.  I like painting like this.  No care for color choice, other than BOLD.  Things flow so much more freely when I don’t seem to care about the outcome.  There’s a lesson somewhere in there, I think.

India ink and watercolor in the Moleskine sketchbook

India ink and watercolor in the Moleskine sketchbook

Leave a Reply

