Alice Pyne

**Updated**

Rarely does an interaction with someone touch me so deeply as it has with little Alice.  I’ve followed her for a couple years, and when she posted this tweet, I knew I had to put her in my sketchbook.

alicetweet

 

So I tweeted her to let her know…

alicetweet2

 

She tweeted back…
alicetweet3
I finally posted the entry you see below on January 11th.  The very next day I saw this on Facebook:
aliceFB
My heart dropped.  Little Alice, you have touched so many, and have imprinted thousands with your love of life.  You will not soon be forgotten.
********************************************************************
Next in my Sketchbook Project is a beautiful young woman from the UK, Alice Pyne (@Alice_Pyne on Twitter).  This one was tough.

Alice is 17 years old, and has terminal cancer in the form of Hodgkin’s lymphoma.  From her blog:

3 thoughts on “Alice Pyne

  1. Vicky

    I never saw her responses to you … this has made me cry, but happy tears but it just shows the kind of girl she was. God, she loved life so very much and hardly ever had negative thoughts. Miss her more and more each day but so glad that she touched you and love that she followed you (I gave her strict instructions NOT to follow random strangers) LOL
    Vicky (Alice’s mummy)

    Reply
  2. msayers Post author

    Hi Again, Vicky! She touched me very deeply, and I really wish I could’ve met her and you, her wonderful family. It still makes me tear up recalling the night that I read your Facebook post about her passing. I sank nearly to my knees. We have a 14 year old daughter who had a tumor removed from her chest cavity late last year, and that was rough enough. But to imagine our daughter, or any of our children, passing is just unbearable. I can’t imagine what you all must have been through, and my heart aches for you.

    Maybe you also saw that I dedicated that sketchbook to her. If you haven’t, I can send you a copy of the page I wrote. Anyway, that sketchbook was sent to the Brooklyn Art Library (www.sketchbookproject.com), and will travel the US later this year. Hopefully, many people will pick it up and read the dedication and follow the trail back to her Twitter and blog, then maybe they’ll be touched as much as I was by your beautiful little girl. And, perhaps that will, in some small way, help her cause as well.

    I hope you and your family are doing well. You are very brave, and I admire you tremendously. May God bless you.

    Love to all of you,
    Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

