Alex Mathers

My next Sketchbook Project entry is Alex Mathers (@MoonApe on Twitter). Alex is a fantastic illustrator with quite the following.  From his website:

With a degree in geography, I am a self-taught illustrator from London, living in Tokyo and born in Copenhagen in 1984. I’m currently working with the Google+ design team, amongst other projects.

I’m a fan of volcanoes, snow monkeys, electronic music, sea creatures and outer space.

I run a site for creatives called Red Lemon Club, through which I’ve self-published four books aimed at creatives and freelancers. I also run a contemporary visual arts site called Ape on the Moon.

My previous clients have included:

Saatchi & Saatchi, NY
Wired Magazine
Macworld
Google
Barclays
Kraft
Smith & Foulkes
Future Cinema
United Nations Environmental Programme
Popular Mechanics Magazine
Singapore Business Times newspaper

Alex is a very talented (and busy) guy, have a look at some of his work HERE.

I’ve had my hand at different mediums throughout the sketchbook, and I didn’t want there to be a bulk of one particular style.  And as much as I want to keep my portraits in the form of the Twitter follower I am depicting, Alex’s illustrative style is just something I didn’t think I could pull off in a portrait.  It is difficult to draw and paint in other folks’ style… try it.  Anyway, I was afraid I’d do Alex a large disservice, so I opted for a simple graphite wash.  Simple, but nothing I’ve tried before in this sketchbook.  Of course, the scan doesn’t help (must get a better scanner).  It looks a bit smoother in person, believe me.  So… Alex Mathers.

Alex Mathers - Graphite wash

Alex Mathers – Graphite wash

Alex, thanks for following me on Twitter!

One thought on “Alex Mathers

Leave a Reply

