Swarez

Next in the Sketchbook Project is @SwarezArt, a brilliant artist from the UK. He’s a very recent Twitter follower of mine (actually, a follow-back – thanks, man!), but I was so enamored by his work I just had to paint him.

His influences include Jackson Pollack, Joan Mitchell, and Trevor Bell, and you can definitely see those influences in his work. Swarez (sorry, I’ve looked everywhere, but can’t find a proper name) has a number of social links, so I’ll share them here as well:

Now, for the goods… I wanted so badly to do a drip painting that would manage to capture a bit of his style. However, once I started, I quickly realized that drip painting was much (MUCH) better suited for larger-scale work, unlike this small 5 x 7 sheet of sketchbook paper.  Nevertheless, I was able to flick the paint instead, which gave it a drip(ish) feel.  I was happy with the result, but you really should check out his work… much better!

Thanks, Swarez, for following!

Swarez

Leave a Reply

