Mishima Station

I wrote about my mobile studio a couple posts ago, so I thought I’d show you what it looks like.

The black leather back pack, a.k.a my mobile studio, hanging on a hook in my office at work.

Contents of the mobile studio: 3 sketchbooks, 2 2x2 canvasses, 2 watercolor sets, 2 watercolor pencil sets, 1 graphite/charcoal drawing set, various brushes, pencils, and a fine-point Sharpie.

Now, my next sketchbook project…

It’s my first attempt in a while at dealing with perspective.  In 2005 I traveled to Japan for a week, and absolutely fell in love with it.  I didn’t take nearly enough pictures, but I was fascinated with their transportation system.  Trains everywhere.  What I’m attempting to recreate here is from a photo I took at the train station in Mishima .  We’re looking down-track from the platform, the Shinkansen (bullet train) is on the right of the picture, although at this stage its probably difficult to see that.  It’s a thrill to ride, very, very fast.

View from Mishima Station (the beginnings of it, at least): Pen & marker in the Moleskine sketchbook.

I’ll work on it some more during lunch and keep you posted on the progress.

Leave a Reply

