Sketch & Wash

More lunch work. I’ve got a “Sketch & Wash” graphite pencil, and thought I’d give it a whirl. After brushing the original drawing with a brush and some water, I was somewhat pleased with the results. Then I had to add a bit of color and got all dorked up with it. Not proud, but here’s what happened, in 3 phases.

The original sketch with the "Sketch & Wash" pencil

Phase2, after washing with a brush (paper was wet, can you tell?)

Phase 3: Dorked up with color (should've left it alone). Honestly, it doesn't look that bad in real life.

What’s really bad is that I did this on a sheet of printer paper. It absorbs water like a sheet of plastic! Just horrible. And I know that, too. This started out as a warm-up exercise, and I was going to do this in the sketchbook. Maybe I’ll do that anyway. Maybe not. Who knows. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

