Started Another Sketchbook

We went to Hobby Lobby the other day and, while ostensibly there to find Christmas garland, you have to know I can’t go into a place like that without visiting the art section.  Turns out there was a huge sale going on, as if that really mattered, and, lo and behold, I found a 5 1/2″ x 8″ Strathmore, 140lb watercolor sketchbook for a reasonable price.  I have more sketchbooks and watercolor paper than I know what to do with.  Hell, my Molskine sketchbook, which I should be using almost exclusively for “sketching”, is hardly ever being opened.  What did I need this damned sketchbook for?

I found a reason.  I was waiting around for a nurse to come to the house to take my blood and vitals for an insurance thingy, when this book spoke to me.  “Daily journal”, it whispered.  OK, fine!  I went with it.  The photo below is the first page.  Hardly a piece of art, huh?  Well it’s expressive, and there’s a WHOLE lot of meaning behind what you see, which I won’t be delving into here.  I’ll say this, however, then let your imagination run with it, cool?  I have an ex-wife, and we have a daughter together.  Each year since the divorce, we’ve pretty much ignored the court-ordered Christmas vacation visitation schedule and have instead opted for a series of back-and-forth negotiations that would make Hillary Clinton proud.  It’s a bit more tense this year for other reasons…  There.  That’s all ya get.  Now don’t ask, OK?

 

December

 

Alright.  Now that was yesterday morning, and a full explanation is hand-written on the back.  Maybe, once I’m dead and gone, and perhaps famous for something other than art (obviously), these pages will be on display, or fetch a handsome ransom, then donated to a high-dollar museum.  In either case, maybe you’ll get the chance to get up close and read them and go, “Ahhh… I get it.”  Until then… suffer.  🙂

Next, is the one from today.

 

The Third

 

 

Pretty cut-and-dried.  What you see is the highlights from the day.  Got blood drawn from my arm (so did our one-year-old by the way – another story), went to Cracker Barrel for dinner, got a Christmas tree, then had a glass of Merlot (Casillero de Diablo, if you must know).  I haven’t got a clue what will be in there as a result of the events of today.  As of yet, nothing remarkable has happened that I absolutely must draw.  Whatever it is, don’t count on it being put up here sometime tomorrow.  It’s the weekend, and it’s gonna be a full one.

Until next time.  Ciao!

2 thoughts on “Started Another Sketchbook

Leave a Reply

