Work of Art – Yaaay Abdi!

I’ve been watching this show on Bravo called Work of Art, the Next Great Artist.  I LOVE that show.  It’s over now, and the winner, Abdi, is an amazing artist with a HUGE heart and tons of personality.  He just seems like a great guy.  Almost felt like a friend, even though we’ve never met.  He’s well on his way.  Check him out!

All this art has seriously primed my pump again.  Watching those guys create, then stress out about what to do next, makes me feel not so alone when I’m second guessing myself.  It was a great show, and I can’t wait for the next episode (hope they have another).  Anyway, after all that, I decided I had to do something during lunch, and this is what happened.

Canister & Cherries (Ink & watercolor in Moleskine sketchbook)

Nothing fancy, but one, I don’t have much time, and two, during lunch?  C’mon… gimme a break, huh?  It’s practice.  Practice!  I draw, doodle and sketch all the damned time, but hardly ever in my sketchbook where I should.  It’s always on a napkin, or on a piece of printer paper, or on the back of an index card.  I’ve got to let it go that the stuff I put in the sketchbook needs to be “good”.  It’s a damned sketchbook!  Look at me yelling at myself.  Such a dolt!

Anyway, make sure you check out Abdi.  The others on the show were pretty good, too.  Some were a bit out there, but the guy who won deserved to win!  Great job, Abdi!

2 thoughts on “Work of Art – Yaaay Abdi!

  1. anhinga

    Thank you so much for this link. Wish I had known about the TV program. Perhaps they will have another. Let us know if you hear. This artist is unbelievable. The characters are so true to life and he has a way with color, particularly in paintings like the gym and background of guys on a couch, that I have never seen. They glow. You certainly have an artist’s eye, and in my opinion, an artist’s hand. Keep on “doodling.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

