Confounded

I apparently have a thing for abstract faces (see here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here).  I wrote a post for my other blog, which has confusion as its theme quite often, and I thought I’d search the net for a picture of something that epitomizes confusion.  There were lots of alright-looking pictures, but nothing was grabbing me, so I decided to do my own.  The result doesn’t give off the feelings associated with confusion, except if you’re trying to figure out why the hell I would paint something so, heck, I don’t know… strange.  Well, turns out thats just what comes out of me sometimes.  I was in full doodle mode and threw some paint on it.  What the hey, I’m not trying to sell anything, so this is what you get.

So, this isn’t “confusion”, but if you scroll over the picture it’ll say “confounded”.  That’s the name I gave the jpg file after saving to the desktop.  Couldn’t call it “confusion” ’cause it didn’t feel confused, so “confounded”… whatever.  I guess I could’ve left it as DSC01005.jpg, but there wouldn’t have been any mystery to that, now would there?

Ink and watercolor on very cheap paper

2 thoughts on “Confounded

  1. msayers Post author

    You’re very sweet, anhinga! When I went to college I took a design class as an elective. It seemed like it might be a primer for a graphic arts major, so there was some art involved – all black and white and gradients, but nothing with color. I did well in the class, but I found out that, even though I’d always wanted to take art classes, I did NOT like being told that there were rules to art. Balance, symmetry, perspective, blah blah blah. It all made me cringe because I had always thought of art as an expression, not something to be given rules to. Never took another one again.

    I’m drawn to abstract and impressionistic works because there don’t seem to be rules and I really appreciate seeing/feeling an artist’s raw nerves rather than having to inspect a canvas close up to figure out how other, realistic painters, get their work so damned perfect.

    I’m rambling on, but I love art – even the photo-realists. 🙂 When the Louvre exhibit came here to Atlanta, I went. It was amazing to get up close to a sketch by Rembrandt and see how he stroked the paper with the pencil. That was a great day for me. All that to say, no, no formal training to speak of. I just love art. And again, you’re sweet, but I don’t believe I have any such talent, but then again, some of the work I’ve seen in galleries makes me wonder. Ever seen crap hanging on the wall and said, “Hell, I could do that much.”? Me too.

    Thanks again for commenting. It’s nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

