Pipes

Sometimes I’ll see something so plain and ordinary, yet there’s something about it that keeps my attention just a few moments longer than usual.  I’m developing a safety program at work and there was this ordinary picture of some industrial piping on a website I was researching.  The colors weren’t vibrant like I’m usually attracted to, but they were eye-catching nonetheless.  I did a short sketch during lunch and added the color with watercolor pencils and the waterbrush pen.

Pen/Pencil Sketch w/ watercolor pencil on paper

6 thoughts on “Pipes

  1. anhinga

    Everyday things–like a tomato soup can–sometimes only those with far sight can see as art. Good eye and nice execution. I love your sense of color and the black outlining. Keep on keeping on.

    Reply
    1. msayers Post author

      Hello again, Anhinga! So nice of you to still be looking at my scribblings. I hardly can take credit for the colors. That’s about how it looked in the photo, so it caught my eye. And the black outlining? It never looks right until I define the edges with ink. Don’t know why. Technique, I suppose. But I’m not trained in art, so I don’t know how else to do it.

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s nice to have.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

