Zen and the Art of Art

I’ve been studying Advaita for awhile now, I guess going on two years now.  Being a “seeker”, of sorts, is terribly frustrating, and I envy folks that get it.  (You should look at my other blog to see how deep it is)  Anyway, Ken B. loaned me a book – “Zen Flesh, Zen Bones” – sometime last year.  It’s not a big book, but I’d put it away and finally stumbled upon it last week.  It’s a compilation of some Zen and Pre-Zen stories, some of them up to 4,000 years old.  Fascinating, and thought-provoking at times.  The cover has a very cool Japanese, or Chinese, painting of a monk riding a bull.  The bull is significant in Zen, but you’ll have to do some googling to find out why.  I had a go at recreating the painting on the cover of this wonderful book.

Zen Flesh, Zen Bones.  Watercolor on 4" x 6", 140lb paper.

Zen Flesh, Zen Bones. Watercolor on 4" x 6", 140lb paper.

4 thoughts on “Zen and the Art of Art

  1. jack

    This is one of the books I go back to many times. In fact I’ve gone back to it for more than 30 years. I’ve lost copies by lending them to friends. Or as I say they are on “long term loan”.
    Jack

    Reply
    1. msayers Post author

      That’s funny! This is my first read, and I have to give it back to good ol’ Ken, or esle I’ll be considered one of those “long term” borrowers. It’s a well used book, barely holding itself together. I’m going to have to buy myself a copy because I think I will be back to it just as many times as you. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment Jack!

      Mike

      Reply
    1. msayers Post author

      Thanks Jim! Tags… hell, I have no idea what I’m doing, you know. Tagmaster… ooohh, I like that. Yeah, I could be “The Tagmaster”. (OK, settle down, Beavis) Later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

