Abstract – Really Abstract – Acrylic Tribal Facey Thing

My daughter and I were painting one afternoon a few weeks ago.  Our intention was to create paintings going off our feelings and instinct.  She did really well, placing brush strokes arbitrarily on her work, using all sorts of color and shapes.  I started out with a two-colored canvas; yellow and blue.  I kept adding stuff, trying to make it look like I was a professional abstract artist, and I made a complete mess of the thing.  Aggravated and hacked off, I globbed the paints on the palette, and mixed paints on the canvas and just went plum crazy.  It all coalesced into this thing that slightly resembled a face, so I went with it.  Man, it felt really good just to flow and glob paint and mix crazy colors on the canvas.  It’s very textured.  I like it because it felt good to do.  Maybe it’s not so much to look at, but boy was it fun.

Acrylic on panel (camera flash was on).

Acrylic on panel (camera flash was on).

One thought on “Abstract – Really Abstract – Acrylic Tribal Facey Thing

  1. Pingback: Confounded « Creations of Mayers

Leave a Reply

