Impressionistic St. Augustine

This is from a picture I took of the Castillo de San Marcos in St. Augustine, Florida.  I did this with pastel, and found I really need to invest in pastel pencils.  I’m using the thick chunks of pastel, and it’s like drawing with a log.  Once again, I’m disappointed with what the fixative does to pastel.  The color fades, and the paper starts showing through, and it’s really deflating.

I’ll always have fond memories of this trip to Florida.  The whole trip, we were surrounded by family, and it was really nice.  Of course, this painting looks nothing like the real thing, but I really like the energy I get from creating this way.  God and man made this scene.  I made it my own.

colorful_st_augustine_castle_web

One thought on “Impressionistic St. Augustine

  1. Pingback: Another Impressionistic St. Augustine « Creations of Mayers

Leave a Reply

