Oil Pastel Abstract Impressionism

Everything has to have a name, doesn’t it?  I wasn’t sure what this style is called, but “abstract impressionism” sounds good.  I haven’t studied art history, although I have read much about a good number of artists who fascinate me.  This piece is another larger sized oil pastel on paper that changed directions many times throughout it’s evolution.  I really love the bright colors.  They feel vibrant and alive.  As with most of my work, there’s no special meaning behind anything you see.

Tree

Tree: Oil Pastel On Paper

5 thoughts on “Oil Pastel Abstract Impressionism

  1. yesbuts

    I don’t think blogs do justice to paintings.
    Your image was dictated and influenced by the size of paper used. You knew when the painting was finished by looking at it – in full size.
    The image seen on a computer monitor isn’t the same as the original full size, unless you paint miniatures.
    I can see eyes and faces in the tree. 🙂

    Reply
  2. msayers Post author

    You’re right, paintings really need to be seen in person to be appreciated. But, at the same time, it gives me a way to share what I’ve kept personal up to now.

    Eyes & faces, huh? Maybe that’ll be the name of the painting from now on.

    Reply
  3. Scaffolding Boards

    abstract art have share some of its unique beauty when it comes to art. i like abstract art because it is mysterious :;*

    Reply
  4. ian

    Yes this is the one. I have a nice little book of Japanese prints I would like to send you, bought at Tynemouth market, at the moment I am extra large, have just started a meal replacement diet, its strange having one meal aday, but i am conscious this is a lot more than others have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

